Chicken, litchi and cucumber salad

Another fantastically easy salad. I had roast chicken left in the fridge from the weekend so came up with a combination of light, summery ingredients that I could match with them. A delicious combo.

Thai-style chicken salad on my new personally designed plate

Thai-style chicken salad on my new personally designed plate

10 litchis, peeled, destoned and halved

1 small cucumber, cut into ribbons using a vegetable peeler

1 packet of microleaves, pea sprouts or watercress

Leftover roast chicken, shredded

A large handful of cashew nuts, dry fried until browned

For the dressing

3 tsp lime juice

1 tsp sesame oil

120ml coconut milk

1 tsp sugar

1 stick lemongrass, cut into quarters

1 dried chilli, crumbled

To make the dressing pour all the ingredients into a pan and bring to the boil. Remove the pan from the heat immediately and leave to cool. It’s good if it sits for at least an hour to let all the flavours

To make the salad simply layer your leaves, cucumber and litchis and top with your shredded chicken.

Pour over the dressing, making sure to drain the lemon grass pieces out.

Sprinkle the chopped, fried cashew nuts over the top and serve.

I painted my plate on a visit to the Clay Cafe in Hout Bay. You choose from an array of unfired crockery like bowls, cups, plates and vases, pick from a wide selection of colourful paints and create your own masterpiece. It’s so peaceful and a wonderful place  to spend a morning, totally therapeutic and addictive…I could have stayed all day. They serve great coffees, too and there’s a playground if the kids get bored with painting before the adults do (believe me, it’s highly likely!). Find out more at http://www.claycafe.co.za

I love my new plate!

I love my new plate!

Leave a Reply

