The Cook with Biltong Club: Cheese and biltong scones

So it’s been a while since I got creative with my favourite ingredient – biltong. What can I say, it’s been a hectic summer with amazing travel and work. I think my kitchen is feeling a little neglected. But don’t worry I’m back on track now and starting off with these lovely, simple cheese scones which I’ve added little bits of biltong to for a special touch. They taste amazingly delicious, simply cut in half, spread generously with butter and enjoy.

Straight out the oven, ready to go

Straight out the oven, ready to go

500ml flour

3 tsp baking powder

250g strong cheddar, grated

3 tsp sunflower oil

125ml milk

1 egg

2 handfuls wet biltong, finely chopped

Sift the flour and baking powder into a large bowl and mix the cheese and chopped biltong through the flour mixture.

Beat the egg and milk together in a separate bowl and add the sunflower oil. Pour this mixture into the flour and mix it until it starts sticking together and is not too dry.

Place the dough on a flat, floured board until it is about 5mm thick, then keep folding it over and flattening it again using the palm of your hand.

Cut out the scones using a round cutter. Place them on a baking tray and cook in the oven for 15 to 20 minutes until they’re browned

My oven was playing up a little the day I made these so they came out a bit more browned than I would have liked, but they give you the general idea – and they did still taste delicious. I couldn’t wait to share the recipe with you – the biltong certainly adds something, both in taste and texture.
Join our club

I’m regularly going to post a new recipe using biltong, so watch this space.

And if you want to order some yourself, I highly recommend the Chichester Biltong Company where you can choose the wetness and fattiness of your biltong too (it’s very personal, you know).

Go to http://www.biltongcompany.co.uk and enter the code EATINGCOVENT when you order.

Please also like our facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/CookWithBiltong

2 thoughts on “The Cook with Biltong Club: Cheese and biltong scones

Leave a Reply

