Soho-bound to The Social Eating House

Continuing my journey around London, today I’m in Soho. I love Soho and had the good fortune to work there for seven years, so I really know my way around. Fabulous to meander through, people watch and, of course, home to a cornucopia of restaurants, it’s just the perfect happy place for me.

The Social Eating House recently opened up its doors there. It’s the third London restaurant from British chef Jason Atherton. He was the first British chef to complete a stint at Ferran Adria’s El Bulli and was part of the Gordon Ramsay stable until he started up on his own in 2010.

As soon as I walked into The Social Eating House, I felt my excitement growing. You step through the heavy curtain that protects the door into a really lovely room with mirrored ceilings and what feels like a clever combo of antique and contemporary decor. And one look at the menu certainly gets the anticipation rising.

The wild mushrooms on toast arrived in a bag which the waitress then snipped the top off to reveal bubbling, earthy beautiful mushrooms. The toast arrive in a little toast rack and was spread with a cep puree which added such depth to the dish. Clever, simple, fun and so delicious!

mushrooms

Mushrooms on toast, but not as you’d expect it

A close up of my toast and its amazing cep puree

A close up of my toast and its amazing cep puree

A delightful way to serve steak tartare, this plate of smoked Black Angus tartare with radishes, horseradish and mustard leaf made a pretty picture and tasted mouthwatering, too.

tartare

The prettiest steak tartare

A lovely piece of  veal topped with a soft duck egg which oozed deliciously over the meat when I broke it. The anchovies added an extra bite. Why is it that veal and anchovies (which seems like an unlikely combo) work so well? A yummily different dish – I’d go back for this one alone.

veal

Love the veal/anchovy combination

Does a fish dish get better looking than this? Roast cod was served with Scottish girolles, baby gem lettuce, cockles and cream. Delicate and rich at the same time.

cod

Roast cod glistens on a creamy bed

Well, I loved my first Jason Atherton experience and would certainly like to head over to Pollen Street to try one of his restaurants there. On the other hand, I wouldn’t be averse to a return to the Social Eating House in wonderful Soho.

The Social Eating House is at 58 Poland Street, W1

Shortly after I dined there, The Social Eating House was awarded a Michelin star.

2 thoughts on “Soho-bound to The Social Eating House

Leave a Reply

