Tapas and Cava at Condesa in Covent Garden

It’s been a while since I’ve had a chance to wander around Covent Garden with no agenda, taking in the sights and seeing what new delights I can discover. So yesterday when I had a Chinese cookery course there, I went in early and did just that.

I’m pleased to say that my favourite part of London is booming. The energy is amazing and on a warm October evening there were people everywhere enjoying all the things it has to offer, from street entertainers (some good, some very bad), coffee shops on every corner, bars, restaurants and great shopping, too. And then I happened upon my new discovery.

Condesa is a little tapas bar that serves a mix of Spanish and South American tapas, as you can see from the sign outside.

Welcome to Condesa

Welcome to Condesa

When I walked in it felt like a little taste of Spain. Welcoming staff and a lovely, intimate, low-lit  space that made me feel right at home.

bar

You can sit at the counter and tuck into tapas

There’s a blackboard of tapas specials behind the bar as well as a menu offering dishes like traditional jamon, manchego, chorizo, olives and almonds as well as pulled pork, chicken chipotle and ceviche.

Happiness is a perfectly chilled glass of Cava

Happiness is a perfectly chilled glass of Cava

To go with my Cava I couldn’t resist ordering tortilla Iberica. Yummy, mini Spanish omelette.

tortilla

A feast for the eyes and the stomach

Condesa has been open for 10 months – yes, it’s taken me that long to discover it. I really must organise some more time for Covent Garden wandering.

Condesa is at 15 Maiden Lane, Covent Garden WC2

Leave a Reply

